Sundance Institute | Candescent Award

E-Team was a Candescent Award winner at the 2014 Sundance Film Festival. The Candescent Award was created by Lilly Hartley in partnership with the Sundance Institute Documentary Film Program (DFP) and is awarded to powerful social issue films that have been supported during production by the DFP and that premiere at the Sundance Film Festival. Candescent is a supporter of the Sundance Institute and believes in the exceptional mentors, filmmakers and leaders that create a sense of community through the Sundance Institute DFP.


Driven by the high-stakes investigative work of four intrepid human rights workers, E-Team offers a rare look at the lives at home and dramatic work in the field of the Emergencies Team, or E-TEAM, of Human Rights Watch. Within this volatile climate, filmmakers Kauffman and Chevigny take us to the frontline in Syria and Libya, where shrapnel, bullet holes, and unmarked graves provide mounting evidence of coordinated attacks conducted by Bashar al-Assad and the now-deceased M. Gaddafi.

E-Team has a ripped-from-the-headlines immediacy as it takes the viewer on an intense ride-along with Human Rights Watch investigators.—LA Times






Katy Chevigny is an award-winning filmmaker and partner at Big Mouth Productions. She directed Election Day which premiered at SXSW in 2007 and broadcast on PBS POV in 2008. Chevigny co-directed the Emmy nominated film Deadline which premiered at the 2004 Sundance Film Festival and was broadcast on NBC to an audience of over six million. Chevigny’s films have screened theatrically, on HBO, PBS POV, and Arte/ZDF and played at festivals worldwide.


Ross Kauffman, Director/Producer



Ross Kauffman is the director, producer, cinematographer and co-editor of Born Into Brothels, winner of the 2005 Academy Award for Best Documentary and over 40 awards, including National Board of Review Best Documentary, and Sundance Film Festival Audience Award. He executive produced In a Dream, shortlisted for the 2009 Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature. He is currently working on the documentary Wait For Me and the narrative feature Boy Boy Girl Girl. 


Marilyn Ness, Producer



Marilyn Ness is a two-time Emmy Award-winning documentary producer. She is currently producing Katy Chevigny and Ross Kauffman's feature documentary E-Team and Johanna Hamilton's feature documentary 1971. Prior to that, Ness spent forty years as a producer for director Ric Burns, collaborating on the award- winning films: Ansel Adams; The Center of the World; Andy Warhol; and Eugene O’Neill. She is currently a partner at Big Mouth Productions and teaches Producing Documentaries at Columbia University.